Yu-Gi-Oh: The Ultimate Beginner's Guide

Yu-Gi-Oh was a manga series created in September of 1996, later adapted into a TV series in 1998. It was also developed into a live-action battle card game in 1999. The story of Yu Gi Oh consists of a character, Yugi Mutou, and his many adventures. Yugi Mutou battles evil enemies with his card deck. Yu-Gi-Oh was named in 2009 as the top-selling trading card game in the world, with the game having sold over twenty-two billion cards globally.

This page will seek to tell you everything that you may need to know about Yu-Gi-Oh. The game can initially seem daunting, but with this page, you will be well-versed and ready to attend tournaments and battle it out with other players. Here is the ultimate Yu-Gi-Oh beginner’s guide.

Understand the Different Card Types

Yu-Gi-Oh consists of a three-tier card system, spell, trap, and monster. Monster cards are the battle cards, they are summoned to attack an adversary’s monsters or HP (health points). They also defend against the opponent’s attacks. Monster cards possess attack and defence points, which determine who has won a match. Spell cards are magical cards that are used to manipulate the playing field. They can raise a monster’s defence or attack, or revive a monster previously destroyed. They are played from hand or played face down. There are six varieties of spell card:

·         Normal

·         Quick Play

·         Continuous

·         Equip

·         Ritual

·         Field

Collect Equipment and Cards

When first playing Yu-Gi-Oh, it is important that you gather your equipment and cards wisely. One of the first things you will want to buy before attending a battle tournament is a playmat. According to the professional playmat manufacturers of https://www.yourplaymat.com/collections/yugioh-playmats, not using a playmat can damage your cards. And, as cards are the most sacred thing to a Yu-Gi-Oh enthusiast, you will most certainly not want that to happen.

As a Yu-Gi-Oh beginner, you will want to compile the strongest cards that you can. Twenty years ago, when Yu-Gi-Oh was first on the scene, players could only dream of owning the most elite and precious cards like Exodia and Blue Dragon, but now with the ease of access to online stores, you can pick them up for next to nothing. With these cards so widely available, you will need to buy them yourself, otherwise, your opponent will likely obliterate you in a tournament. Prepare your card deck wisely and collect as much equipment as you can before setting out to battle.

Understand the Playing Format

Tournaments can be hosted anywhere from homes, to card shops, to arenas. There are many organized large scale tournaments that take place every single year, with increasing popularity. Tournaments attract, in some cases, thousands of people, all competing for rare promo cards and collectables.

There are two separate styles of Yu-Gi-Oh tournaments, called formats. Each format has its own predetermined rules and restrictions, and in some cases, elitist cards may not be used so as to remain fair to players who do not have them or equivalent cards.

1.    The Advanced Format

The advanced format is the format most commonly used in sanctioned and licensed tournaments. The advanced format follows the ordinary game rules but also puts a ban on cards that can be used to win with a single hand. This card list is known as the forbidden list. There are some cards of limited edition that are not allowed, also. The list is changed twice yearly to add and omit banned cards from the list.

2.    Traditional Format

The traditional format is the second most popular method of the format used but is never used in officially licensed and sanctioned tournaments. It is the same model of play as above, but with the forbidden cards completely removed. This means that any card goes. Occasionally, a card may be banned in advance, and if this is the case, you will only be allowed one per deck.

3.    Sealed Format

With added expansions being introduced to the Yu-Gi-Oh universe, the sealed format was born. With the addition of the Epic Dawn battle pack in 2011, Konami, Yu-Gi-Oh’s distributor announced the introduction of a new form of drafting tournament. With the introduction of a second battle pack in 2013 and a third in 2014, the format was further continued.

Rating System

At one stage, the game offered worldwide ranking systems, but Konami has since cancelled this, and the worldwide system has been rendered obsolete. A new rating system, COSSY, has been developed and is similar to the original rating system.

Now you know the basics for becoming an expert at Yu-Gi-Oh. This page should tell you everything you need to know as a beginner to excel and become legendary.

Popular posts like this

According to the latest B2B Content Marketing Report by CMI and MarketingProfs, 70% of B2B marketers produce more content than they did a year before. Due to information overload...
A SaaS company inherently refers to Software As A Service or a company that hosts an application. In doing so, you’re making this application available to interested users all...